Santorini Tomatoes.

The Santorini Tomatoes are growing well, I am hoping this hot January will ripen them soon.  Most of my plants needed staking.  The packet says they grow knee high most of mine are double that.  I have some in another bed that didn’t do so well, they are smaller and have some fruit on them,  but the plants are not so healthy looking either.

It will be interesting to taste them.  A lot of is also to do with soil and climate. As a child in England I ate tomatoes like fruit, they had so much flavour. I rarely eat uncooked tomato now.  Although this weekend I bought some tomatoes from The Turf Club Market in Southport, I have never eaten tomatoes like them in Australia, I’m going back on Sunday to see if I can get more.

The Burkes Backyard Santorini Tomato seeds came from http://www.roystonpetrieseeds.com.au   1300307338.

Thank you for visiting, RosieG goldcoastlocal

5 responses to “Santorini Tomatoes.

  1. Those are some beautiful tomatoes you’ve got growing there! Here’s hoping they taste as good as those you enjoyed as a child.

  2. I hope so to John, I can’t wait for them to ripen, I am going to have a go at saving the seeds as well. Blessings RosieG

  3. Hi Rosie, I haven’t heard of Santorini Tomatoes before, I like the name 🙂 and it will be great to hear whether they are winers!

  4. Thank you so very much for putting up this info! I am sure you will absolutely love these tomatoes. They are definitely the best I’ve ever tasted!

  5. Unfortunately we had so much rain the tomatoes didn’t do so well. But I did keep the seeds separate, and I have masses of seedlings growing.

Leave a Reply

