Coriander Chapati – making a flat bread.

Coriander Chapati

3 cups of flour,

1 and 1/2 tsps salt

1 cup tepid water

1 tablespoon oil.

Ground Coriander seeds

Add salt, water and oil to flour.

Knead for 10 minutes,

Cover with clingwrap and rest in fridge for at least an hour.  I made this dough the day before I needed it.

Split dough into 8 pieces,  then separate each peice into 3 small pieces.

Make each small piece into a small pad, sprinkle with ground coriander and roll out thinly.  You will also need to sprinkle a little flour on your counter and rolling pin. Repeat this with each piece, make sure you put a piece of baking paper or cling wrap between each piece or they will stick together and you will have to roll them all out again. (I learned this the hard way)

Heat a heavy griddle or frying pan really hot, throw a small amount of ghee or margerine if your dairy free into the pan.  Fry chapati quickly you can see the dough dry out as it cooks. Flip over and cook the other side.

Repeat with the remaining Chapati.

Wrap in a clean tea towel to keep soft and warm. For a plain bread leave the coriander seeds out.

I made these the first time with an Fijian Indian friend almost thirty years ago. She didn’t add oil, she made them just with flour and water.  The kneading is the important part it stretches the gluten in the dough and gives it elasticity.

To confirm the amounts needed I checked the recipe in Charmaine Solomons Asian Cookbook.

For Dinner my sister cooked a massaman curry and rice, I made the chapatis and we sprinkled the last of the fenugreek micro greens on the rice. Tonight I sit up until 12:30 cooking the Christmas Pudding. I did try to gain sympathy after all I was making this for the Good Man. However I was gently reminded that if I had remembered to soak the fruit Saturday the pud would have cooked Sunday during the day and I wouldn’t have had to stay up till all hours.  But I have the last laugh because what do I love doing blogging, cooking and gardening and I have at least two of them going on here tonight.

And in the garden, plenty is happening.

2 responses to “Coriander Chapati – making a flat bread.

  1. This sounds lovely, and I haven’t made Chapathis for a while. I know the next time I do I’ll try adding some coriander seeds 🙂

  2. Hi, How is your travelling going.
    The coriander seeds worked really well and the nice thing was they were from the garden. I keep them in an a pepper grinder so it’s very easy to grind a few over anything.

    The funny thing was, what gave me the idea, I forgot to put salt in, I love rock salt baked on bread so I sprinkled rock salt through, The rock salt didn’t work to well but the coriander was brilliant and you could do it with so many different things. Almonds, walnuts, cumin seeds, fennel seeds,

    Cheers enjoy your snow days. RosieG

Leave a Reply

