Making Strawberry Jam

 There is nothing like home made strawberry jam.  I love this time of year, I always arrive at the market late when it is closing so I can get multiple containers of strawberries.

To make Strawberry Jam

Use equal strawberries and sugar with  lemon juice. Tonight I used a kilo of strawberries and a kilo of sugar and 3 tablespoons of lemon juice.

Hull Strawberries, you can cut if they are large, unless they are really large I always leave them whole.  Add to pan with sugar, (you can leave them at this point up to overnight, the sugar dissolves and all this beautiful red juice is released).  Add lemon juice, and  cook gently till sugar has dissolved.  Stirring occasionally with a wooden spoon.  Turn heat up to a medium and let bubble away for 20 to 30 minutes. When the sugar coats the back of the spoon the jam is ready.  If the jam doesn’t set  you can heat it up again and add jamsetta which is pectin. This will help it to set.

For dinner tonight gnocchi, meat sauce topped with avocado, radicchio micro grees, onion micro greens and Italian capsicum with a side of Italian beans.

I believe I have found the culprit that is destroying my vegetable spaghetti.  They are covered with what look like yellow and black striped lady beetles.  Tonight I noticed one of the lady beetles on a tiny little grey insect. Not sure what it is but it doesn’t look beneficial.  Not sure what to do,  a little research is needed. I am concerned that if I spray with white oil it will harm the lady beetles too.  But I do want to get some vegetable spaghetti.

 Has anyone got any ideas.

 These seeds were only sown two days ago, and this afternoon they had already sprouted. So amazing seeds from my own garden now growing into lettuce.

Thank you for visiting, don’t forget to come back blessings RosieG

9 responses to “Making Strawberry Jam

  1. always wanted to try out jam but thought it looked too hard!
    we have just started a new blog and would love to know your thoughts, check us out at http://www.tinkeringinthekitchen.com

    • Jam is very easy to make its basically fruit and sugar. Thank you for stpping by. I checked out your new blog looks good.

  2. I sometimes spray with a VERY weak solution of washing up liquid. But it has to be very weak so it doesn’t kill the plants. Hope you manage to sort something out!

  3. I will try that, I did spray some white oil on them, because after a look on line I thought they might be cucumber beetles. But I have had another look and I am pretty sure the yellow and black things are ladybirds. If I can find out what the grey ones are that might give me a bit more info.

    I like the idea of washing up liquid, I might try it on the potatoes those leaves are looking a bit eaten.
    Thanks heaps RosieG

  4. I just found out the grey things are aphids, so the yellow and black things are lady beetles. Ok at least I know what I am dealing with now.

    cheers RosieG

  5. That’s half the battle isn’t it, trying to identify creatures! Do you do any companion planting? I’ve been trying – planting marigolds in the greenhouse to stop greenfly or with the greens to stop whitefly. It seemed to work in the GHouse this year…… we’ll see if it works again next!

    • I want to do more of that I planted marigolds with basil and tomatoes. I love marigolds but I need to learn more about what goes with what. In my mind I can see every garden bed bordered with some kind of edible flowers. Fun part is translating that into reality.

  6. Pingback: Coming home from work to Home Made Pasta and Bolognaise Sauce | goldcoastgardendiary

  7. Pingback: Mango Salad and More Strawberry Jam | goldcoastgardendiary

Leave a Reply

