‘N Boer maak ‘n plan

Lots of my friends and colleagues are South African and one of the things I love about them is “they always have a plan”  and they laugh and  say ” ‘n boer maak ‘n plan”  The farmer makes a plan.  The only way I can say this is to think of boerwurst which I love then to say boerwurst and then I can say ‘n boer maak ‘n plan” which causes great hilarity. Although I have been in Australia for 37 years my voice still holds a touch of Yorkshire. So that adds to the fun.

I think this little saying  is one of the reasons so many South Africans  make a success of their lives. They are a people who know how to make a plan.

Well I am not South African but I love to make a plan and I have been scratching my head and looking at the garden and trying to work out what is the best thing to do with it.  My winter beds are all finished. Some beds grew well others not so good. There is a real lack of soil and I discovered the difficulty of digging a few weeks ago when my little afternoon activity became a month long project.  So ‘n Boer maak ‘n plan

So here is “The Plan”  This weekend chop down the Palm tree behind the mango and trim back the shrubs that are going wild. Clear everything out that needs to go to the tip.  The following weekend  hire a ute, go to the tip and pick up organic soil from Prestons.  In the meantime collect horse manure or mushroom compost when possible.

Then the fun begins the soil will go in the middle vegie bed and the bed that had the broad beans and tomatoes in.

On both Weekends plant seeds ready for seedlings to go in the new garden beds.

Here  is a photo of my lovely brugmansia which is also behind the mango but will be kept.  In fact the mango will be trimmed so that it is never to big for the spot.  Because I really love this tree.

After rain this is magnificent full of peach coloured blooms.                                                                                                        Dinner tonight a lovely salad of Mizuna Lettuce, artichoke hearts and walnuts.

I looked this phrase up to check the spelling before and found this picture, its very funny check it out.http://www.oneafrikan.com/2009/05/28/n-boer-maak-n-plan/

Thank you for visiting it’s time for me to go off and dream about my plan RosieG

Leave a Reply

