Coriander seeds and home made chips.

I never imagined home grown coriander seeds, even when I planted coriander seeds it was for the plant it didn’t occur to me that the best harvest would be from the seed.  The reality is so little of the coriander I planted came up, what did went to seed very quickly so I don’t think I will use any of these for seed. However  I will really enjoy using them in cooking or grinding them over fruit or vegetables..

Melbourne cup today and the leafy greens with coriander and nasturtium flowers went to work for lunch.

This meant a very light meal tonight, but I did make home made chips which are always a winner.

If you have time, when you make chips start about 4 hours before you need them, peel and slice your potatoes add them to cold water and sit in the fridge for four hours.

Remove from the fridge, dry thoroughly cook in hot oil until pale brown, lift out of the oil turn the heat up very high and put the chips back in to brown and crisp up. They will be delicious.

But you know what if you are just home from work slice the potatoes with the peel on. Throw them into hot oil and cook till golden brown. Everyone will still love them because who doesn’t like hot chips.  Be careful because once your family has eaten these they will never want frozen oven chips again.

3 responses to “Coriander seeds and home made chips.

  1. can I ask why you put them in water in the fridge / what it does to the potatoes?

    • The water stops the potato going brown. Putting them in the fridge makes them really cold, then when you put them into the oil twice it makes them them really crispy on the outside and soft inside.

      I am not sure how it works but it is the cold and then the double cooking. They are delicious if you do this. Though most of the time I am too busy and just cook them once.

  2. Thanks for the details, I’d never heard about getting them cold before, and as we still have some Blue Salads which are superb for chips, I’ll give this a go. 🙂

Leave a Reply

